- Guides to French Chateaux
- Visit a Chateau
- Chateaux by area
- Nearby Hotels & Gites to book online
Chateau de Saumurtourist information guide
Address: Château de Saumur, southern bank of Loire, Saumur, 49418
Tel: +33 (0)2 41 40 24 40
Opening Times: Apr-Sep:Tue-Sun; 10:00-13:00 & 14:00-17:30 | Admission Charge
During the second half of the 14th century Louis, 1st Duke of Anjou and brother to King Charles V, transformed the fortress of his ancestor, Saint Louis, into a country residence.
The château of Saumur thus became a luxurious palace. In 1480 Saumur returned to the estates of Louis XI, King of France, following the death of King René, the last Duke of Anjou.
The site successively became a residence for the town governors, a prison and eventually a munitions depot. It was bought by the town of Saumur in 1906 to house the municipal museum.
The site is open throughout the summer season enjoy the gardens with their breathtaking panoramic view over the town and the Loire as well as the exhibitions in the abbey church
In April 2001 a section of the rampart collapsed. Due to the reconstruction work the decorative art and equestrian collections housed in the château are not open to the public.